#27 – Homeless in Miami

It is the beginning of April and this past Tuesday morning I woke up to light snow flurries outside my window. This morning I heard the weather man say that on Saturday we may see a light coating of snow on grassy surfaces. WTF?

This after a winter where we saw a high of 80 on Christmas Day.

I’m a self described cold junkie. I love the cold probably more than any person should. I love coats, hats, scarves, mittens, and hot cocoa. There is something about sitting inside with a roaring fire, watching a good movie covered in blankets.

Knowing the brutal conditions outside while you lay comfortably inside, warm and cozy is pretty awesome in my book.

I have the luxury of being able to experience that. There are people that don’t.

Whenever I’m in Philadelphia, NYC, or Washington D.C. and I see homeless people trying to not freeze to death I wonder, if your’re going to be homeless why not be homeless in Miami.

I would do whatever it takes to get enough money, for a bus ticket that get my ass the hell out of Philly and somewhere warm.

I love the cold. I hate being cold.

I would panhandled like a mother fucker until I could buy that one way ticket to Miami or I’d just start walking. What do you got to loose?

It blows my mind that someone would resign themselves to laying underneath a bridge along the Schuylkill when you could be on a beach in Miami.

I think it speaks to our resistance to change. Change is hard. Some would rather practically freeze to death then make their way to a beautiful beach. I’m the same way. Shit has to get really bad before I make a change. The bottom has to completely fall out, the pain so unbearable, I’m forced into action.

Tony Robbins says, “Change happens when the pain of staying the same is greater than the pain of change.”

Why does it have to be that way? It might just be human nature. They way we are wired.Assuming my hypotheses is correct, then the trick is, at least for me, is to make the most out the change when you decide to change.

When you are forced into a situation where the pain of staying the same is greater than the pain of change, you need to do make the most of it.I usually wallow, wondering why didn’t I make the decision to change sooner, because now is to late, I’ve wasted to much time, what’s the point. I just pile on and on.

I’m 100% guilty of staring at the wreckage of my life and asking, “how can I ever recover from this?” I don’t have what it it takes. I’ll pout and wine, blame others, doubt my ability to turn as they say tragedy into triumph. I complain, incessantly.

At some point thought I do stop whining, dust myself and start taking the first step toward the Miami. I don’t want to freeze to death in Philly.

I’m working on getting back up faster, but I’m not perfect. Some people just have knack for handling tragedy with the a formidable combination of grace and strength. I lack both in times of crisis.

I get a paper cut and immediately want to go to the emergency room. My wife on the other hand, gets run over by car, pops back up, says she is fine and pleads her case for not going to hospital. Never mind the fact every bone in her foot has been crushed and she can’t remember where she is.

You basically have two choices when you get the shit kicked out of you. You can get back up, dust yourself off and do something about it or you can start walking to Miami.

Just take one little step. If you don’t have the strength to do it yourself, get it from someone else around you. Ask for help, let others push you until you can push yourself.

The alternative? You end up frozen.

 

Leave a Reply

