A Timley Quote

Came across this quote today from the well known Buddhist and best selling author, Pema Chodron. It was very significant considering yesterdays post, The Lantern.

“Sticking with uncertainty is how we learn to relax in the midst of chaos, how we learn to be cool when the ground beneath us suddenly disappears We can bring ourselves back to the spiritual path countless times every day simply by exercising our willingness to rest in the uncertainty of the present moment – over and over again”

For me mindfulness has been an incredibly valuable tool in helping to recognize when my I’m resiting a set of circumstances I do not like. I’m able to create the space that allows me to recognize the present moment is neither bad nor good, it is my relation to and the story I’m telling myself about the present moment that makes it bad or good. I know, easier said then done right? I often feel frustrated by the fact that despite this realization I rarely feel better about the present moment when it is challenging, but I’m realizing just having this awareness puts me much closer to ending the suffering. I’ve won the battle, but the war is far from over.

Leave a Reply

